Project Hariharpur (2013) was WORKSHOP’s second project in India, and took place in partnership with the Indian Trust for Rural Heritage and Development (ITRHD) and the British Council. The aim for the project was to explore low-cost, socially sustainable architecture in the context of Hariharpur, a small village in rural Uttar Pradesh. Although under-developed, Hariharpur has a unique tradition of classical music, and ITRHD is striving to protect and promote this valuable cultural heritage through the provision of basic infrastructure – including health, education and sanitation. The studio worked directly with the community to design and construct a small school building that could act as a prototype for contemporary rural architecture in India.  It is the first phase of a larger master plan that includes a health center, theatre and exhibition space.

Together with the teachers of the school, parents, local artisans and craftspeople, the design and construction of the school was an opportunity to  learn from vernacular building methods, reinterpreting and evolving them to create a building which addresses today’s needs and aspirations. Using every step of the research, design and building process to trigger small positive change within the village of Hariharpur, the ultimate aim was to build a strong sense of collaboration, ownership and pride within the community.

Please see the project blog and the publication below for more information about the process.

To watch a documentary about the process, watch Village in a School by Gautam Chintamani

Project Directors:
Alexander Furunes, Ivar Tutturen, Clementine Blakemore

Project partners:
Leika Aruga (Community Organizer)
Kiritika Dhanda (Architectural Co-Ordinator)

Kamlesh Mishra (Local Project Co-Ordinator)
Arvind Yadav (ITRHD Project Co-Ordinator)
Yanchee Lau, Keelan Hegarthy (Engineers – Ramboll UK)
Shiban Ganju (Architectural Consultant)
Anshu Ahuja (Architect)
The teachers of Chacha Nehru School
The community of Hariharpur

Building Community III Visiting School:
Vishank Kapoor (Visiting School Co-Ordinator)
Himanshu Mam, Letitia Allemand, Maria Belen Sacheri, Leila Thackara, Jelmer Buurma, Signe Helland Nyberg, Runa Dahler Sandø, Anne Widengren, Frøydis Hegnar, Jostein Fardal (NTNU & AA Participants)

Advise and expertise from:
Ramboll UK, Revathi Kamath, Anil Laul, Pankaj Khana, Anshu Ahuja, Sourabh Phadke, Amritha Ballal

Funded by:
British Council
David Chipperfield Architects
Rojo Arkitekter
Svein Skibnes Arkitektkontor
Øystein Thommesen
Madsø Sveen Arkitekter
Carl-Viggo Hølmebakk
Per Knudsen Arkitektkontor
Solem Arkitektur
Arc Arkitekter
Rambøll Trondheim
Arne Winther
Eggen Arkitekter
Manijeh Verghese

Comments are closed.